Haven't Registered?
Join Now

What are the benefits of registering?

Close X
Friday 27th November 2015
Free Lottery
Play for
Every Day!
Win up to
Every Week!
Play Now
Facebook Twitter

Euro Lotto

Euro Lotto (or Euro Lottery) is a phrase most often used when referring to one of the two big pan-European lotteries - EuroMillions and EuroJackpot.

EuroMillions began in 2004 and is currently played in the UK, France, Spain, Austria, Belgium, Ireland, Luxembourg, Portugal and Switzerland. The lottery has a minimum jackpot of 15 million, with the highest-ever top prize won by a single ticket being 190 million, claimed by UK residents Adrian and Gillian Bayford in August 2012 as well as a Portuguese ticket holder in October 2014.

EuroJackpot started in 2012 and is played in Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. The odds of winning the jackpot are better than those for EuroMillions, but the prize payout is lower - EuroJackpot starts at a guaranteed 10 million and a jackpot cap of 90 million, which was first reached in May 2015 after a series of rollovers.

EuroMillions remains the more popular of the two games, despite being played in fewer countries.

Comparison Between the Two Euro Lotteries

Eurojackpot vs EuroMillions
5 from 50 and 2 from 10 Game Format 5 from 50 and 2 from 11
10 million Minimum Jackpot 15 million
€90,000,000 Highest Ever Jackpot €190,000,000
1 in 26 Overall Odds of Winning a Prize 1 in 13
1 in 95,344,200 Odds of Winning Jackpot 1 in 116,531,800
21:00 EET (19:00 GMT)
Drawn Tuesday and Friday
21:00 CET (20:00 GMT)

Euro Lottery Scams

There has been a rise in scams where emails, texts, letters and phone calls target potential victims, purporting to be from a fictional game called Euro Lottery, taking advantage of the fact that people still refer to either of the continental games by that name.

The scams attempt to trick unwitting recipients into revealing their bank details or insist that they send amounts of money to cover non-existent fees or taxes which the scammer insists are necessary before the jackpot can be paid.

For more information on identifying and avoiding this type of fraudulent activity, visit the Lottery Scams page.